Everyone experiences being a leader at some point in their life. However, not everyone is good at leading others. What do you think are the qualities of a good leader?

There are some people who are born as leaders and to lead others. These people have an inherent sense of leadership inside their minds and are able to obtain the trust of others. When the qualities and characteristics of such people are studied carefully, there are some factors that can be found commonly in successful leaders. In my opinion, the two qualities that are present in every good leader are humility and passion.

To begin with, a good leader is always humble. In this case, by humility, I mean when a person is aware of their bad qualities and is able to improve from them, rather than being oblivious to their weaknesses and being proud and arrogant. An arrogant individual would never be able to lead the people because the emotion of arrogance would not let him care about other people. On the other hand, the quality of humility allows the individual to be aware of their surroundings and to consider others before themselves. I personally had an experience with a leader who was arrogant. During a group project in high school, I was teamed up with a senior and three of my classmates. The senior was very arrogant and gave us a hard time by ignoring our opinions and preferences and doing the project as his heart pleased. Ultimately this lowered our motivations, and we were not able to work to the best of our abilities. Due to this, our group was not able to get a high grade on the project. This experience led me to believe that arrogance is a factor that can severely damage the group, especially when it is the leader who is arrogant. If the senior was humble and had listened to our opinions more, I am sure that the outcome would have been way better.

Another quality that I think must be present in a good leader is passion. If the leader is not passionate about his goals, then it is not strange that the other members would not be passionate as well. It is the duty of the leader to motivate those who are being led, and if the leader lacks passion, this is not possible. I recently had a great experience with a leader who was passionate. While being in a volunteer club, I was able to learn a lot about being a leader from the club’s leader. He would explain his personal experiences while volunteering while emphasizing the things that he learned from those experiences. When he was talking, everyone in the room could feel his passion for volunteering, and this motivated us to volunteer more and become like him. Even when I was being lazy and had to force myself to volunteer, the moment I saw him working hard next to me, I was able to become passionate about volunteering again.

Therefore, due to my life experiences, I believe that the two most important characteristics of being a leader are humility and passion.