The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given paragraph, it is stated that there will be a high demand for heating oil in the northeastern US and investment is recommended in Consolidated Industries. The firm has come to this conclusion based on several premises, which if correct, could indicate that the argument holds water. However, as it stands now, the suggestion from the firm relies on three unwarranted assumptions, which diminishes the credibility of the recommendation.

First, the firm has failed to address the number of homes which still uses the traditional oil. The term “most” is not defined in itself. Perhaps, the number of homes in that region maybe low in the first place. If this is true, then the argument is weakened.

Second, the firm appears to believe the weather pattern will continue for several more years but fails to clarify how many years is referred by term “more”. Maybe the more is two years or 5 years. So, if this is proved to be correct, the argument will lose its strength.

Third, the firm blithely relates increment of new houses to demand curve of heating oil. There is a potential that the residents of new houses may not use the traditional oil like the locals. Perhaps, they may use any other source of heat. If this holds true, the argument will be undermined.

In conclusion, as it stands now, is considerably flawed to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the firm is able to prove these three assumptions wrong and provide more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation.