The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

“Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions, and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The investment firm recommends its clients to invest in Consolidated Industries because of the predicted demand for heating oil. However, to make the claim more convincing, several assumptions in the argument need supports.

The author suggests that climate forecasters believe the cold weather will continue for several more years. An assumption here is that the forecasters and their weather forecast is reliable. However, the author did not provide the background of the forecasters. They could be forecasters who just graduated from college or they may even still attending their universities. If the forecasters are experts who have done lots of research, the weather forecast may be reliable. We must know that whether they have the ability to predict the weather for such long period of time.

Even if the climate does get colder in the future, the demand for heating oil may not rise as predicted. The author assumes that the residents in the northeastern United States will continue using the conventional heating system. Still, the residents may change their heating method to other kinds of heating system, such as electrical heating systems. With the presence of the electrical heating systems, the demand for heating oil may decrease instead of increasing.

The author mentions that many new homes are being constructed in the northeastern region. Nevertheless, it might be possible that the new homes will not have new residents since the recent population growth may be ephemeral. The investment firm may predict the growth too optimistic. If economic recession occurs in the northeastern area, people will not want to move into the area, and the original residents may also move out from there, which results in the decrease in the demand for heating oil.

Even if demand for heating oil does increase in the future, the ability of profiting of Consolidate Industries may not rise as assumed. An assumption here is that Consolidate Industries is the only company selling heating oils. However, the author does not provide the background of the competition within heating oil market. If there are other companies which sell the same heating oil at lower prices, the residents might purchase the oil from them; consequently, the profit of Consolidate Industries will not increase.

In conclusion, to strengthen the argument, the author would need to address the assumptions presented above.