The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client, the author recommends investing in Consolidated Industries that one major business is the retail sale fo home heating oil. To justify this recommendation, the author assumes that oil consumption of residential market in the northeastern United States will increase significantly as the result of using oil is their major fuel for heating, more house built in this region and temperature in winters will decrease in several years, which may appear plausible at a cursory glance. With a streak of dubious and poor evidence and holes, however, the argument is ill-conceived. The reasons are stated as follows.

To begin with, the author assumes that the residents in the northeastern United States will continue enlarging to use fuel oil to heat their houses. Although it is possible, the author offers no evidence to corroborate this crucial assumption. The residents will likely choose alternative energy to get warm. An appropriate example is not very far to seek. For example, with green energy policy implementation, the civil of American ought to consider deploying renewable and green energy like Solar or bioenergy, etc. To fortify this assumption, the author should provide more reliable evidence and preclude these and other alternative scenarios. If the author can convince me that, this argument will be significantly strengthened. Otherwise, the trustworthiness of this argument is far-fetched.

Also, the author assumes that more houses build will cause more fuel oil consumption in the future. Nevertheless, there is no guarantee that it is necessarily the case, the author does not supply any evidence to affirm this assumption. What is of the equal possibility that these buyers of the new-built house only spend time in these houses during summer because they only treat these houses as the places for a holiday. It means that these buyers never live in these houses during winter and never consume fuel oil for hearting. To illustrate this point clearly, let us have a look at this following representative example. For example, the winter climate in southeastern American, always so warm and comfortable that during the harsh weather these residents cline to the exodus and migrate to this area. To reach the cited conclusion, the author has to provide more cogent evidence. Otherwise, without accounting for and ruling out these and other alternative explanations, the author cannot bolster this recommendation.

Last but not least important, even the evidence turns out to support the aforementioned assumption, the author just simply relies on the assumption that the Consolidated Industries will benefit from this increasing demand for fuel oil, and none of any scientific evidence is provided to confirm this assumption. It is very reasonable to doubt that what the author assumes will not happen in reality. It is as possible that the oil quality of Consolidated Industries is not competitive as that of other companies and the price of oil from Consolidated Industries is much higher than others' so that the sales performance lag behind the expectation. For example, the other companies will conduct promotion for their premium fuel oil but the Consolidated Industries will not follow up. In such a case, customers prefer to order fuel oil from other companies. To get a more convincing recommendation, the author must explain either why none of these alternatives are available or none of them can sustain.

To sum up, this recommendation is not based on valid evidence or sound reasons, and none of which is dispensable for a certain argument. To draw a better conclusion, the author should reason persuasively, cite more compelling evidence, and take every possibility into account.