The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument, the homeowner hastily suggests his friend approach Adams Realty if he wants to sell his home. The author provides some incomplete facts to prove his point. Let's look at some details of the suggestions made by the author to his friend and help him reach a well-informed decision.

The author states that, because the number of real estate agents in Adam's is greater than the Fitch, so Adam's must sell the home faster. However, the selling of a home depends on the efficiency and marketing skills of the agents and not their count. For all we know, it is even possible that the Fitch hires only expertise with an MBA in Marketing from a reputed university and a relevant work experience whereas the Adams recruits Freshers and Interns with no experience at all. Therefore, Fitch's agents, even working part-time can be more efficient than Adams's agents.

Now, the author also tries to relate the fact about the revenue earned by the firms, with the ability to sell the homes faster. We have been given the revenue earned for the complete year. We can't deny a possibility that the Adams sold the houses worth the revenue in the entire year whereas the Fitch, due to some issues, had to close down for few months and generated the revenue in just 5 months. In this case, obviously the Fitch shows great efficiency.

Later, the author gives his friend a comparison of his experiences with both the firms which spanned in a period of 10 years. Now, if you see a decade is a very long time for things to change and improve. It may be possible before 10 years Fitch didn't have an efficient workforce as it has now. Also, the possibility that the property the author sold with Fitch was in the outskirts of the city or very old construction or even with some legal issues can't be denied. It can also be a reason for the Fitch to take longer to sell the property. Whereas, the Property, the author sold with Adams was located at a prime location and at an affordable price. Hence, it got sold faster.

Since, the author made a hasty conclusion that the real estate agents at Adams are better than the Fitch, addressing the possibilities mentioned above and get the exact details required will help the author's friend to make an informed decision to hire agents to sell his property.