The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the passage has listed facts and comparisons about the two real estate firms - Adams Realty and Fitch Realty - and how Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. On the surface, the assumption that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty seems to be sufficient enough to bolster the position in the argument. Any good orator would use similar speech to convince his friend. However, several questions arise that could undermine the assumptions in this passage.

The first question that surrounds Adams sells faster as compared to Fitch. Here, the assertion is based on, comparison between two firms, not in present but are compared after ten years. The realty market ten years ago has not been defined. Maybe ten years ago, due to housing market bubble, it was hard for Fitch to sell the house quicker, as compared to Adams in present. Nonetheless, the author misses to confirm the rate at which Fitch and Adams sold the house, if they could be compared using inflation.

Secondly, it is stated that Adams Realty has greater revenue than Fitch, and helps to get better average selling price than Fitch. Although, there can be a case, that Adams Realty is operating in a better neighborhood, where the people living are opulent and the houses that are existing are costlier than the area in which Fitch operates. Another instance, why Adams Realty has better averaged home sales as compared to Fitch: maybe, Adams Realty could sell only 3 houses worth, $206,000, $168,000 and $100,000 which averaged to $168,000. However, Fitch sold only two houses but with lesser spread in sales e.g. $140,000 and $148,000. If either of the alternate explanations have merit, the author's argument will be significantly weakened. As, Fitch may help to get better price and on the other hand, in case of Adams, you may have a possibility to have a very high price or very low price.

Moreover, Can you compare two homes, when you are selling them at a difference of ten years? There would certainly be a lot of changes in amenities, locality, city, and economy, which in turn will positive or negative effect when you are selling your house. Also, having more number of agents do not mean to be superior but It becomes a burden. When there are less number of buyers and sellers are less too then the operating costs for Adams will increase, which in turn will put pressure on employees to sell the houses to get revenue. Due to which agents may sell those houses at whatever price they can, without doing due deliberation. Thus, Fitch is a smarter one to have a small number of agents and most of whom are on part time basis, as you don't require to sell houses for whole day. You can't compare apples to oranges and clearly same is the case with houses too.

To recapitulate, one can see that there are quite a few alternate explanations that would justify the home sales of Fitch which is averaged lower than Adams.