The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing claims that reduction in shift hours by one hour will help to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents. Vice president reaches at this claim after several assumptions of sleep deprivation, tiredness, and comparison with nearby Panoply Industrial plant. However, before vice president's assumptions are accounted as a fact for his argument, we should consider several other alternative assumptions too.

To begin with, there is a 30 percent increase in job accidents compared to Panoply Industrial plant. What was the number of accidents at both plant last year? what was the number of Quiot Manufacturing this year compared to last year? Here vice president considers just percentage of accidents. It may happen that there were 10 accidents last year, and this year there were 13 accidents. Also, on the other hand, Panoply Industrial plant may have 20 accidents last year and this year it had 25 accidents, so this is an increase of 25 percent but the number accidents are 2 more than Quiot Manufacturing. If above is true, the vice president’s assumption of increase in accident compared to Panoply Industries plant does not hold water.

Moreover, what are the safety guidelines at Quiot Manufacturing? Are they giving enough rest to workers during shift? As per experts, contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation. Maybe during the manufacturing, there are some noxious gases which are in turn working in insidious manner to reduce sleep of workers and due to lack of safety measures at industry, workers are not wearing masks. Also, workers might not be given enough break during their shift to regain energy for work, as company wants more productivity. If above is true, then reducing one hour from shift will not help in increasing workers productivity and on-the-job accidents, consequently weakening the vice president's assumption.

Finally, what if workers are not utilizing one hour of reduction in work for sleep? For instance, it may happen that workers who have been given extra one hour for sleep, will not use it to rest or sleep. They may do some other household chores for example cooking, cleaning the house, which will not help them to rest and will make workers even more tiring. If above assumptions hold water, then the vice president's assumption of reduction in one hour from shift will not help to reduce on-the-job accidents.

TO recapitulate, vice president of Quiot Manufacturing offers a flawed argument and has failed to consider several other assumptions for his claim. Had he provided more fact, his argument would have been persuasive. As it remains, vice president's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.