The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The things that make our deigning tasks easier and help us to achieve a task expedite with less efforts, are the conveniences of our life. On the other hand, luxury is an ostentatious convenience, that is used not just to make it life easier but to make it rather showy. However, both the terms luxury and convenience are subjective terms. Here, the author states that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong independent individuals. I do not concur with author for the former statement, some of the ways in which I illustrate my position are as follows.

To begin with, the first question that comes in my mind is, who is a strong and independent individual? The term differs from person to person and region to region. For example, for one person strong and independent individual means, who does not have to do even a single task at home. He will have servants for himself, who will do all the chores for him, from cooking food to serving him a glass of water. In my opinion, strong and independent individuals are those, even after failing many times in their career or personal life, they tend to remain strong and motivated. No matter how unfathomable the problem is, they greet problem with open arms and try to find solution for it.

Moreover, the views regarding convenience and luxury remains different between developed and developing countries. In developing countries such as India or Bangladesh, for the families of middle class, hiring a cab for going to work is quiet luxury due to their low income. Conversely, in developed countries such as America or Australia, hiring a cab for going to work is convenience.

Finally, convenience helps the people to achieve their task easily and efficiently, therefore, a person has more time to deal with his problems and find solution to it. It is not so that person always will be in trouble, however, with the help of convenience a person can re-learn or re-skill himself. Indeed which helps him to be in job market as per requirement, so that he can be self sufficient. For example, a convenience of washing machine or laundry service, which help people to save time and energy on washing clothes, and then invest the same in other places which helps to gain career advancement or re-creational activities.

Besides, the opponents of the issue might argue that, convenience and luxury do prevent people from developing into strong and independent individual. As an illustration, smart phones which were supposed to help people increase their productivity and can be used to learn or read, are not being used as thought so. People spend lot of hours daily on social media, before going to bed which lead to disturbing sleep patterns and reducing productivity, inducing lethargy or stress.

TO recapitulate, the definition of convenience, luxury and strong and independent persons differs. I believe, convenience and luxury does not prevent people from becoming strong and independent individual. Also, there's a fine line between use or misuse, if crossed may lead a person to nadir. Nonetheless, mankind has reached to a new high just to make their life easier and full of convenience.