Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is the base for any society or country. It defines, how well society is groomed and moving ahead. It creates, a new point of view and helps to see the problems from various prospects. In order for nation to thrive, one of the most important aspect which contributes is education and thus government should make sure education is being provided to all. As we all know, to make education free is a contentious topic. The author of the issue states that, government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. I believe the education for all is necessary but to make it totally free of cost especially for higher degree, is not a good idea. Some of the ways in which I illustrate my stand are as follows.

Firstly, an ideal society is where, citizens will get best healthcare facilities, education, safety, infrastructure development, recreational activities, etcetera. To achieve this goal, every year, government provides a part of its annual budget spending to each of the field. Suppose, if government makes the education totally free for graduate degree, they have to bear the cost of professors, maintenance staff, laboratory facility, overhead costs, and so on. This cost will be so high, that the authority will have to compromise in other fields such as safety or healthcare. A society where education is free but lacks in healthcare, will weaken the nation because, the amount that a family is saving on education may have to be spent on healthcare in order to get a good treatment.

Secondly, students may start taking graduate studies frivolously, as they do not have to worry about expenditure of college fees. It may create a long-term impact on their behavior of not taking things seriously. Also, when students have to pay fees, they start being diligent and punctilious. They will work hard, to get a job and can return the cost of education by doing so.

Opponents of the issue might argue that, government should offer education free of charge to all students for their higher education. However, I believe that in spite of making education totally free, scholarships should be provided to students who cannot afford it. A qualifying criterion can be set for students to get free education, based on their previous grades in high-school. A new scheme can be provided to students, if they choose free education, then they have to serve to national welfare services. This way it helps government and society to achieve their budget planning.

To recapitulate, I believe the best way forward should be a mixed-model. The education should not be totally free, however, it has to be a mix of scholarships and full tuition fees. As long as the model is helping the students to achieve their career goal and the nation to burgeon, making education totally free will not help.