The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

The store owner believe that, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has decreased dramatically due to increase in skateboarders inside Central Plaza. To support his argument, prohibiting skateboarding in plaza will bring sales to a high, which was two years back. Though the underlying issue certainly has merit, because of lack of evidence, weak assumption, and vague language the store owner's argument remain unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. Some of the flaws in the store owner's argument are as follows.

To begin with, was there any change in the economic scenario of the country or people living in same city as Central Plaza? Suppose if, country has been hit by recession and people living in city have lost their jobs. So shoppers will not have enough disposable income to spend on non-essential goods. Had it been given that, the economic scenario is same and still shoppers are decreasing in plaza, would have made the recommendation stronger.

Additionally, it has been mentioned that the litter and vandalism has increased throughout the plaza, is it because of skateboarders or due to some changes in cleaning policy of Central Plaza, was not mentioned. Although, skateboarders are banned, but the maintenance staff, who has been clearing the dustbins, are doing so every alternate day rather than daily. Due to which there is unpleasant odor inside plaza and shoppers are eschewing to shop from Central Plaza.

Moreover, was there any store, now closed, which was particularly attracting customers and due to which other shops were enjoying the benefit? Or is there any new mall or plaza which has been opened nearby, in recent two years, and giving better facilities? Giving free parking, better discounts on retail products may attract the shoppers to shop from new venture and thus decreasing footfall in plaza.

Although the written argument is categorically unconvincing, the store owner could strengthen his position were he to provide other necessary details. Whether, any new mall opened or not, there is no change in economic scenario, there are no changes in maintenance structure of the plaza. If store owner were to provide more details of connection between skateboarder and sales of shops, then the argument reasoning would be significantly improved. However, without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.

In conclusion, the store owner presents an interesting but a flawed argument. He has failed to consider factors that have significant bearing on his claims. Had the store owner presented the details above the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands the store owner's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remained unconvinced.