Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that there has been decrease in students who are getting jobs after passing out from Omega University. The author arrives at this claim due to several evidences; the process of student evaluation of professors, increase in academic grades. Also, author believe that employers consider this dramatic rise in grades is inflated. However, before author’s argument are accounted for fact presented in argument, some more evidences must also be considered.

To begin with, how are we comparing students who are getting jobs from both universities? Are we comparing number of students or percentage of students who are receiving job offers from both Alpha and Omega universities? It may happen that, Alpha has more number of students in contrast to Omega university. Let’s say Omega has 250 students and number of students are getting jobs are 200. On the other hand, Alpha has 1000 students and number of students who are getting jobs after passing out is 500. When we compare numbers it is clear that, the number of students getting job after passing out from Alpha is more. However, when we compare percentage of students, at Omega eighty percent of student secure jobs, when compared to just fifty percent at Alpha. If above is true, author’s argument that students at Alpha are getting more jobs does not hold water.

In addition to this, are employers just looking at grades and hiring students? Or are they looking for a particular skill while employing? For instance, there is a heavy demand of Data Analysis in market. Now computer course which is being offered by Omega university does not include data analytics. On the contrary, computer course which is being offered by Alpha university does include introduction of data analytics. So, when students after passing out from Alpha university have an added advantage during interviews to secure a job. If above evidence is correct then, the author’s conclusion of student is not receiving job offers due to student evaluating professors is weakened.

Finally, are we comparing jobs between two different fields? For instance, Alpha university students are graduating in robotics engineering and students from Omega university are graduating in civil engineering. Also, the number of jobs available in market for robotics are more and less for civil engineers. Conspicuously, the students of robotics will have better chance in securing jobs than civil engineers. If we consider this case then author’s argument is negated.

To recapitulate, the author presents a flawed argument and has failed to consider specific evidences for his claim. Had he provided more evidences as mentioned above, his argument would have been more persuasive. As it remains, the author’s argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.