Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the basic need of every human being and, teachers or parents are the torch bearers of this task to enlighten students. Learning is everywhere, at home, school, parks and so on, which helps students to move ahead in life and achieve intended results. The prompt recommends that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. I strongly disagree with this for following reasons.

Firstly, formal education, which is being made after due deliberation for the wellbeing and advancement of students, cannot be thought as circumscribing. For instance, a child who has a high intelligence quotient and another child who has, low intelligence quotient study together. In a class both of them has same curriculum, and it has been made in such a way, that it will push the boundaries for intelligent child. Simultaneously, it will help other child to burgeon his knowledge to at least an average level.

Secondly, home-school can frustrate the knowledge of a student in one direction, rather than making them aware and protean. For example, parents who are teaching their child at home, thinking, they can give better knowledge and show them the right path for career, may not always be right. It will restrict the child just to focus on a particular subject as mathematics and science and not giving her liberty to study literature, arts and other subjects. These subjects would have helped to open the creative part of brain.

Finally, interaction among students is also a must. To illustrate, a student who are having a privilege of formal education, get chance to take part in extra-curricular activity. These activities in turn help to develop being a, team player, leadership, and solo roles. Also, they, help the students to take bigger challenges in life and make them closer towards realities of corporate challenges.

Opponents of the issue might argue that, formal education is not able to cope up with the speed of technological impact on humans. Today's industry wants students to be felicitous for companies and apply the knowledge. The education which is being delivered in class rooms are still the same old and not even close to industrial expectations. This leads to increase in unemployment and the pool keeps on increasing. Also, to become germane for industries employability criteria, students has to take extra courses.

To recapitulate, I believe the best way forward should be a mixed-model. However, I believe the formal education should be a mixed education, where, students can gain classroom knowledge and requires a certification in the field of dynamic subjects. This way it will help students to develop holistically.