Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of this editorial is expressing his opinions about deer are unable to migrate from one island to another for food and starving to death, consequently, population of deer is declining. To support his argument the author provides evidence, that the food on which deer survive is available on different island and deer migrate from one island to another island during winter, when there is a cover of ice over sea. But due to global warming, the ice is not forming and deer are unable to move from island to island. However, author needs more evidence on, why the deer population has declined.

To begin with, the author's argument is based on reports from local hunters. Nonetheless, are these hunters representing all of the Canada's artic region or are they from just one particular island? Is there any census for the population of deer? If these hunters are just from one region or a particular island, it is possible that deer only in that area have declined as a result of hunting. Also, the deer may happen to burgeon on other islands or regions which have not been reported by locals.

Moreover, if global warming has stopped deer from migrating from one island to another. It may happen that deer have moved to a new region for food, more towards north where it is more cold. Also, the reports from hunters are how old? Are they recently reported or the reports are from which season of the year? In this situation, when the locals reported the decline in deer population during winter, the deer normally are not found in this region during this time of year but they migrate to this region during summer.

Although, the written argument is categorically unconvincing, the author could have strengthened his position were he to provide evidence showing that, in other regions too the deer population have decreased. Also, when survey was conducted, large number of dead bodies of deer were found on an island stranded. There were no plants left on that island on which deer could survive. In addition, autopsy showed that the reason for death was hunger.

To recapitulate, the author presents an interesting but a flawed argument. He has failed to consider factors that have a significant bearing on his claims. Had he provided more evidence as mentioned above, the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands, the author's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.