Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Government is the authority who controls the rules and regulations for any country. Due to its policies and support, a nation can thrive to become either research based nation or application based nation. Today, the mankind has reached a new high, thanks to all the scientist and researchers who were given free hand to pursue their research, in technology, medicine, education, economic policies, etc. Had there been any sanctions on all the researches, it becomes difficult or even impossible to achieve breakthrough. The author of the issue states that government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. I believe the issue has its merits and demerits, same are explained below.

Firstly, all the research and development requires testing. Suppose if government put restrictions on skin care products that they should not be tested on animals first. Then, this issue can create a negative impact. If a deodorant, which is created with a new formula that helps to keep the fragrance longer, was not tried and tested on animals. For the first time it was tested directly on humans. It may leave a life long rash or some form of abnormality on the skin.

Secondly, if any restriction is placed in the field of medicine, it would be difficult to have a breakthrough in research. Suppose, there is a drug X which is considered a danger to mankind and environment. Now government places a restriction on drug X, that it cannot be used in any of the research too. However, there was a hidden quality in drug X which can be manipulated and used to make a new kind of drug which could not only just treat but to cure cancer.

However, the opponents of the issue might argue that, the research and development which is being done in the field of defense have a major threat on mankind. When nuclear bomb was created, no one ever imagined gargantuan destruction it would cause. Also, the war won on such evil measures is not actually a war won but lost. Nuclear weapon started the race within mankind on new types of weapon. Such as bio-weapons, which can eradicate a whole civilization and can also lead to a pandemic. Also, the cure to bio-weapon only exists with its creator. I believe, we can destroy the race for weapons by giving proper education to the upcoming generations and to live peacefully among ourselves.

To sum up, the restrictions on scientific research and development will slow down the intended cure or advancement in its field. However, without restriction it may open up the possibility of a new discovery. Hence, I can confidently state that there should not be any restrictions on scientific research and development because it is the only field that will help for the survival of mankind and help them to thrive through out their lives.