The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the study claims that after adding salicylates in food will continue to contribute in steady decline of the number of headaches suffered by average citizens. The author reaches at this claim after considerations of several evidences in the study. However, before the author's evidences are accounted as fact for his argument, we should consider several other evidences too.

To begin with, even though salicylates are the members of the same chemical family as aspirin, but does it provide same results as aspirin in order to fight headaches? For example, alcohol families, there are several compounds such as ethanol, benzol, methanol that belongs to alcohol family. However, all of them are not safe for human consumption and all of them does not help in achieve the same task as alcohol, some of them are even deleterious to human beings too. Similarly, salicylates being part of aspirin family does not mean that it will contribute in mitigating headaches. If above is true, author's argument is weakened.

Moreover, author claims that due to increase in salicylates in commercial use of food production, there has been steady decline the average number of headaches reported by participants in twenty year study. However, is the reduction only due to increased use of salicylates? Can there be another factors such as, reduction in pollution or improving personal health by physical activities? For instance, twenty years ago there was a factory which was releasing noxious gases in air and due to which several people living in near vicinity complained of headaches. On the other hand, people in order to fight the pollution started wearing masks as precaution and over the due course of twenty year, the factory had to shut down its operation. Also, the air quality index of Mentia is also improving slowly, which may have been the cause for reduction in headaches. If above is true, then author's prediction of steady decline due to salicylates does not hold water.

Finally, the decrease of headaches was seen in which type of headaches? Was it migraine, headaches due to stress, or headache due to pollution? Also, how many people at present are complaining of headache in Mentia? It may happen that, over the course of twenty years, the cause of headache, pollution, has decreased to a huge extent and there is no room for further reduction in its level. Due to which author's prediction of further steady decline will be negated. Also, the number of people now complaining over all in the city of Mentia are mostly due to sickness and not general headaches.

To recapitulate, the author of the study presents a flawed prediction and has failed to consider specific evidences for his claims. Had he provided more in depth study of his evidences, his claim would have been persuasive. As it remains, author's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.