The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that Adams Realty is more superior to Finch Realty is based on faulty assumptions.The homeowner tried to convince his friend that one could sell his home quickly and at a good price by using Adam Realty.While the line of reasoning is somewhat persuasive, it committed Biased sample fallacy and therefore it is not logically sound.

First of all, the argument commits Biased sample fallacy.The argument is based on the assumption that these two firms have equal professional skills, thus there is a strong question about the efficiency of the employees in these companies. It may be the fact that agents of Finch are comparatively more efficient than Adams and despite the fact that the number if agents are less, they are able to sell more houses than Adams.Many agents of Finch work only part-time which make these agent gain more clients from outside the work circle, which indeed provides better outcomes for Finch.

Second, the homeowner is also presents the revenue factor between these companies falsely. The homeowner assume that the number of houses sold by the two companies are same, which lacks evidence. It is possible that Adams sold 10 houses worth $168000 each and Finch sold 20 houses worth $144000 each, which in turn presents the fact that Finch earned more revenue than Adams.

Thirdly, the homeowner compares the recent statistics with ten years old data.The author suggests that it took four more for Finch to sell a house and one month for Adams. The author seems unconvincing as despite the fact that Finch takes four months it provides better deal as it takes time for better scrutiny and provide the agents with fruitful results. It is also unfair, as the field of real estate

Sees drastic changes over the period of time, so to compare the two firms on the basis of ten years old data seems unfair.

In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since it overlook many possibilities that must be addressed to strengthen its statement. If it presents evidence regarding above stated conditions, the claim seems unconvincing.