Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Some people think that educational institutions have a responsibility to convince students from not taking part in fields in which they are unlikely to succeed. Others, however, think that, institutions should have no or controlled responsibilities and students must have rights to pick their own fields by choice.I agree with the later and present the following reasons to support my point of view.

First of all, an educational system aims on an overall development of a student, which allows the student to grow and have a knowledge from different field as well. When an individual steps its foot in outer world he/she should not lag in any department and must have a better intellectual understanding overall.If not, the students will only have bookish knowledge in that particular field and it will hinder the growth of an individual, which in turn will drain all the confidence one must have to deal all the situations in life.The students should have rights to select there electives apart from the major fields, so that they might learn a new skill, which in turn may convert into their field of work.It may be art, music, different fields of subject etc.In addition, institutions must encourage its students to take part in sports activities as it is a stress buster for many students. Therefore, the student will release hi/her stress and will be physical fit.

Secondly, before entering an institution a student have confined boundaries and after entering the institution they see a bigger picture in life.Educational institutions gives exposure to its students in various fields which allows the students to explore new fields as well. Dealing with there major studies as well as exploring new fields makes them a multi-tasker and train them up to handle pressure in life. There are various examples where we have seen that the students find hidden talent in them which in turn drives them to switch there field of study.Shanker Mahadevan, an Indian music singer and composer is a mechanical engineer found his real talent in his college days and pursued it afterwards, which made him a music legend.

Finally, if a student finds its real talent due to the exposure and freedom given by the institutions, we would really see the most talented slot in every particular field.

In summary, I believe, while the major fields are important to study, institutions must give some to exposure and freedom to its students, as it is the freedom that gives energy to students to gain overall development.