The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that by limiting the number of mopeds in the island will decrease the number of accidents is based on faulty assumptions. While the line of reasoning is somewhat persuasive, it committed Biased statistic fallacy and the questionable cause fallacy. Therefore is not logically sound.

First of all the argument commits biased statistic fallacy. The author states that the number of population increases the number of accidents in the island, which is presented without a proper justification. Moreover, there is no proper statistics that show that the increased number of population use mopeds as a mode of transportation, they may rent a car or use bus for that. It may be the fact that the number of accidents during the summers are due to other modes of transportation. The author should take other key factors into account and present the data with stronger evidences.

Second, the author fails to address that it maybe the fact that the companies are careless and they rent the mopeds without a proper scrutiny of the driver. The tourist maybe not be learned enough to drive the moped and is unaware of the traffic rules and regulation of the island, which may lead to accidents. The mopeds that are rented maybe old and not not serviced according to the proper government standards. The author fails to present proper statistics with causation factors during the time of summers.

Third, the author fails in presenting his point that the neighbouring island Seaville had decreased the number of accidents by using the same strategies last year. 50 percent annual reduction is a significant number that cannot occur just by reducing the number of mopeds, it may have included other factors such as good quality of mopeds and strictness of rules and regulations. The author should consider other areas as well who used this techniques to reduce the number of accidents.

In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since the author fails to presents statistics with strong evidences and benefits. If it included proper implementation and strategies, the argument would have been strong and persuasive.