The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

The author of the argument concludes that it would be better to sell a house in Adams office rather than Fitch. However, The Speaker assumptions are not completely convincing.

Firstly, the arguement cites that the averge revenues of Fitch is much higher than Adams to support his conclusion. However, a careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it does little credible support of the author`s conclusion in several critical aspects, and even raises several skeptical questions. For example, average(arithmetic mean) is defined as the total revenues that any of the two offices earn divided by the number of houses they sell. To further investigate, by applying the previous defination, may be the number of houses that are sold in Adams is less than those in Fitch while the sum of earnings are higher in Fitch case. Therefore, that may be a false indication of how success is Adams office.

Secondly, the arguer states that Adams real estate is better than Fitch because of number of agents is much higher in Adams rather than those in Fitch. This is a weak and un supported claim, as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the number of agents and how to sell a house quickly with higher price. To further illustrate, Even if the number of agents are may be much more in Fitch, this may not be an indication of how much big they are. In other words, Fitch may have more agents but little number of offices to support them.

Thirdly, the arguer assumes that he sell a house much faster in Adams estate this year than his previous trial to sell another one 10 years ago. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For example, as things change over time, may Fitch was at rudimentary stages 10 years ago, but now, it updates its infrastructure and marketing policies. Therefore, depending on the author only experience is not a strong judgement that Fitch is less efficient than Adams.

In conclusion, the arguer does not completely convince me that it would be a good idea to sell a house faster and more profitable in Adams rather than Fitch company. Ultimately, the argument would have been strengthened, if the author had shown additional evidences about how many houses are sold per year per each office? And how much revenues of profits they get per year? Also, the author would convince me if he/she shows a survey on a large number of clients in both offices in order to get a clear idea of how fast are each of the two companies?