The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago, I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author compares two leading Real Estates in his/her town and concludes that Adams Realty sells houses quickly and at a good price, claiming it to be the superior one. He / She uses the revenue, the number of agents and the time required for providing service as evidence to support the conclusion. However, the author makes several assumptions that need to be addressed before the argument is accepted or rejected.

Firstly, the author assumes that the Real Estate market before 10 years and 1 year is the same, as he compares the two estates at different timelines. Although the market might have remained static in the nine-year period, the author doesn’t provide any kind of evidence to prove it. The author neglects the possibility of an increase in speed of service due to other reasons, for instance, the growth in technology, which might have made the process easier than before, eventually shortening time to sales, not just for Adam’s, but perhaps, also for Fitch. In addition, the economy at different times can also cause the time to sales to vary. In fact, if the town was going through a recession 10 years ago, it could have only been natural for Adams to take a long time to sell a property as well. Hence, the author makes a faulty analogy by comparing the two companies in different timeline.

Furthermore, the author claims customers to get a good price in Adam’s, by implicitly reasoning that higher revenue implies superiority and ensures the faster sale of property, along with good value. Then again, the author doesn’t vindicate his/her argument. If the higher revenue is actually a consequence of decreased value received by the customer for the property, instead of a result of serving a high number of satisfied and well-paid customers, the argument would lose its validity. Also, if evidence regarding good price received by the customer, such as customer payment satisfaction survey, the percentage of sales value received by the buyer, the amount received on an average property sale etc. were provided, the assumption would then have a warrant and make the argument a plausible one. Hence, the author fails to provide enough evidence to deem the argument as a convincing one.

Finally, the author directly relates the number of agents working for a company with the superiority of an estate business. While there is evidence provided for the superiority of the organization, is based on shaky grounds. Without further information, we cannot conclude that no other factor determines the superiority of an organization. Even if factors other than the agents are excluded, the quantity of agents is insufficient to guarantee success and brilliant performance. Moreover, we know that there are more Part timers working at Fitch, we cannot rashly conclude that the part-timers are any less skilled or dedicated. Not to mention the fact that if the assumption is to be proved as baseless, the validity of argument would no longer remain. For this reason, the author ought to provide more evidence before concluding.

Altogether, the author has presented a potentially acceptable argument, but we do not have enough evidence to conclude Adams is the superior of the two leading real estate firms of the town.