The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

By comparing two real estate agencies homeowner fails to consider some crucial facts about the house market, differences of the characteristics between those agencies, as well as additional factors. In addition to this, he uses a comparison between the sales of two his houses made almost ten years apart without taking into account how much might have changes in those years.

As a primary evidence homeowner uses some statistical data which indicates that Adams Realty is far superior than Fitch Realty. As a first metric he uses the number of employees: Adams has almost twice as much as Fitch Realty, and the latter one has many part-time ones. The homeowner doesn’t mention how many part-time employees Adams Realty has; maybe in percentages number of part-time employees there is higher than at Fitch’s.

Homeowner mentions that the revenue at Adams Realty is twice as much at Fitch Realty, in addition to the average of home sales being higher as well. He fails to consider some other factors that may influence the revenue. The expenses at Fitch Realty can be higher than at Adam’s which might account for a bigger difference in the possible revenue. Other point the homeowner missed is the comparison of the number of sales between two agencies. Fitch may be covering more markets and making more sales with differences in the house prices than Adam’s Realty. Adams Realty can be concentrating on a more high-end market, assisting in sales of much more expensive housing than Fitch Realty. This would account for a higher sale average and a higher revenue.

As a last argument homeowner brings upfront the sales of his two houses. One was made ten years ago with the support of Fitch, which took months to accomplish. The recent sale made by the help of Adams Realty agency took only one month to close last year. This analogy is completely unfounded, as ten years ago and one year ago from now can’t be comparable timelines. It is clear for me that the market couldn’t have stayed the same in the span of ten years, the situation has clearly changed. The market ten years ago could have been more stale, on a downslope. It is not evident that if the homeowner had tried to sell the house using services of Adams Realty, it would have been done faster than in months. In a commensurate way homeowner can’t insist that selling his latest house with Fitch Realty Agency would have taken longer.

Homeowner needs to provide sufficient data that the differences in the revenue and overall success of two agencies don’t depend on the discrete markets they cover, the professionalism of the employees, types of houses they sell. Before comparing the period it took both houses to sell he should have covered how the market of ten years ago has changed to one of one year ago. Only when provided with supporting evidence that sales were solely reliable on the professionalism of the agency can the comparison and the final conclusion of superiority of Adams Realty agency be substantiated.