The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manger.

“One month ago, all the showerheads In the first five floors of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The writer predicts that if Sunnyside Corporation applies restricting water flow to all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Tower, then its profit will be increased further. To support this prediction, the writer points out that the change will result in a considerable savings for the company and that no problems with showers have been reported without only a few complaints about low water pressure. However, this line of reasoning suffers from several problems, which render it unconvincing as it stands.

A threshold problem with the argument involves its optimistic perspective on actual water usage of the first five floors where the restriction applied. Yet the letter provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Perhaps, lacking reliable evidence of the actual reading, it is entirely possible that the actual usage was not decreased at all or even increased. If residents in the first five floors had not took shower, but bathing regularly, then the water usage would not have been changed. Without considering and ruling out this and other possible scenarios, the writer cannot justifiably.

Secondly, the writer assume that cost of restriction is lower than the revenue of the project. The owner provides no evidence about this assumption. Without evidence to the contrary, it is entirely possible that since costs of the restriction installment is far more expensive than actual revenues. If this is the case, then the profit of the company would be decreased or at least will not be increased further. To put it another way, the writer cannot justifiably conclude that there are some net revenue from the restriction.

Thirdly, the author seems to commit a fallacy confusing indication with reality. The mere fact that only a few complaints was reported does not show that there ‘is’ no other complaints from residents who did not report low water pressure problems. Without substantiating evidence to the contrary it is possible that the not-reporting residents would final the contract and leave the building, which would make the company’s income deteriorated. Without ruling out Hence, the owner fails to convince me that the expansion of restriction would beget positive outcome.

Finally, the author commits a hasty generalization from the first five floors to throughout all twenty floors of the building. This could be the case if there are some evidence for similarity among the residents of the building. However, the owner does not provide such evidence at all, so it is equally possible that, although the first five floor restriction gave considerable success of saving, since the initial cost of the restriction and little or no saving from the other residents, overall savings would not be considerable. Thus, to persuade me, the author must suggest evidence strongly indicating that the water usage of entire residents is similar to that of first five floor residents.

In sum, the owner’s prediction fails to convince me that the recommendation would benefit for the company’s additional profits. To make the argument sound more reasonable, the author must answer the following questions: whether the real water usage of the first five floors was reduced or not, whether the residents really have no complaints except few reporting ones, and whether the residents from the first five floors are representative with respect to their water usage.