Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It seems reasonable to conclude that the new franchise store in the town of Plainsville will be successful. Arguing this prediction, the author relies on three premises: first, the residents of Plainsvile lead healthy lives; second, since franchises of Nature’s Way tend to be profitable in the area in which people hew to healthy lifestyle, the new store will be too; third, there are many prospect customers. However, this argument is neither valid nor sound in several respect.

To substantiate the first premise, the author cites two evidences: a report about high sales of running shoes and exercise clothing, and high registration of local health club, weight training, and aerobics classes. However, for these evidence to support the first premise, the author need to suggest additional assumptions the author did not mention in the passage. The unstated assumption here is that high sales of the product related to workouts and the high registration rate indicate actual frequency of workouts. Without it, the evidence suggested would not a substantial evidence, only a circumstantial evidence.

Now consider the second premise. Here the author takes for granted so-called argument from similarity that if two things are similar in some respect, then they would share other characteristics. However, for this reasoning to work, we need additional evidence indicating that the successes of other franchises were attributable to the lifestyle of the residents. Without it, the author could not rule out the possibility that the other successes were due to other factors than healthy lifestyle of residents.

Finally, for the third premise to support the conclusion that the new franchise will be successful, the author relies on the faulty logic that the sheer size of customers will increase as the new generation of the area come in the market. Consider other possibility: although the new generation come into the market, the whole population may not increase. The number of people who die, or move out to other area could exceed that of new generations. If this is the case, then the new franchise would not be successful as much as the author predicts.

Also, the author assumes that the new generation of the area would adhere to healthy life style as they are taught in school. However, even if it is the case that the population will increase, the next generation who experienced mandatory education during their school days would abhor the workouts. If this is so, then the number of prospect customer is exaggerated in the prediction given above.

In sum, I give four additional assumptions to substantiate the argument of the author. If these unsated assumptions are not supported with additional evidence, the optimistic prediction of the author would be misleading.