Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every filed need vitality; without it, there would be no innovation in that field, resulting in devastation of it. Then how could we keep those enterprise vitalized? One may argue that the surest way to do so is to change the leadership; hence, make people in power step down after five years. However, I do not agree with this line of reasoning. First, although in some field, the claim has merit, I will argue that it should not be applied to any field. Second, there are many ways to keep a field alive, that is, the reason could be false. Third, even if the reason is not disputed, it does not follow the claim right from the reason.

First, consider the applicability of the policy. In politics, in particular presidency, it has merit. For instance, South Korea made a rule according to which its president cannot be re-elected. Since South Koreans experienced long dictatorship during its past, this rule functions as keep their democracy invulnerable. However, for a filed where it needs long-term visions, such as start-up business, the policy makes things worse. If a new start-up runner does care only about the next five years, what could happen in the business?

Second, there are many alternative revitalization scenarios without any change in leadership. Take an example of Samsung, one of the largest and most innovative electronic companies in the world. Although the company has succeeded in smartphone section and memory hardware, fields in which to success one needs to be innovative, Leaderships of the company have never experienced a huge change in that its ownership remains only Lee-family. What actually changed was its technicians, not its leaders. As Samsung’s case shows, there is an alternative way to promote innovation without changing its leadership.

Thirds, the argument is invalid, that is, even if the reason is correct, the claim is not guaranteed. Suppose for reductio that changes in leadership is the surest way of revitalization. However, it does not entail every leadership should step down after five years. In the case of the presidency of South Korea as I give above, it would be appropriate. However, there are fields in which a five-year policy is inappropriate. Let me give you an example. Consider the presidency of the united states. It allows up to 8 years. Why they do that? It is because they care about its consistency. Think about the following scenario. One president started a national project which, say take 8 years to complete. Then, 5 years later, the next president, who was a representative opponent of the project, take powers and undo the project. Such inconsistency will make the long-term projects impossible to complete.

In a nutshell, I argued that the claim should be rejected on the basis of the following reasons: first, the policy cannot be applied uniformly; second, the reason is not guaranteed; third, the argument for the policy is not valid. Rather, I argue that there is no panacea for revitalization, but case-by-case solutions.