Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above consists of a premise that the lifestyle of the towner of Plainsville is similar to those in areas where chains of Nature’s way are successful and a conclusion that new stores opening in the town of Plainsville would be successful too. And the author gives three evidence to support the premise. However, this line of reasoning relies on several problematic assumptions; without these additional assumptions, evidence the author gives cannot be used to support the premise. Also, the argument itself is not valid; that is, even if the evidence are given support the premises and the premises are actually true, the truth of the conclusion is not guaranteed.

Let me start with the evidence. The first evidence suggested is the report of merchants at Plainsville which indicate that sales of exercise clothes and shoes are at all-time highs. Unfortunately, for this evidence to support the premise, we need additional evidence indicating that what brings those high sales of the products is the residents’ lifestyle rather than other things. However, the author does not give any such evidence. Since this evidence is missing, it might be that such high sales are due to just by accident. If the reports were made at the beginning of the year, since many people made a healthy lifestyle as their new year’s resolution, the results do not suggest any convincing evidence for the premise. The reports could be exaggerated and deflected toward a more positive direction. The same thing can be said for the health club membership, the weight training, and aerobics classes registration.

Second, the author commits a fallacy known for the confusion of correlation with causation. The author argues that new stores of Plainsville will be successful since the lifestyle of the population is similar to that of other areas in which the stores win successes. However, this assumes that the successes of the other areas are due to the lifestyle of the customers. And since the author does not give any evidence for it, the argument itself is not valid. Consider the following possible scenario. The fact is the successes are due to the higher proportion of older people in the areas whereas Plainsville is a relatively young town. Since older people tend to be more interested in a healthy lifestyle, the correlation between lifestyle and the successfulness is not the essence. If so, the new store of the Plainsville which lacks the older population for its success would not be successful as the author argues.

The other premise is also problematic. The author cites prospect customer bring success to the company. However, this is not guaranteed. This is because although for a company to be successful in a market, the net population of the customer should increase, the author does not give any evidence or argument for it. Without it, although the new generation enters the market, the total number of customers could be reduced. As they enter the market, there would be people going out of the market. People would move out of the town and even die. If these were the case, the size of the market would be contracted, resulting in less success of the new store in the area.

In sum, the argument above neither valid nor sound. The premises need to be supported by additional evidence, and the entailment does not guarantee the conclusion. If the author could give additional evidence which indicates (1) that the premises are well-supported; (2) that the entailment is not the result of statistical luck; and (3) the demography of the area will not be changed or, if changed, changed in favor of the argument, why should I reject the reasoning?