A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Prima facie, national curriculum has many merits. It would be especially advantageous if every student in a country had some shared national identities upon graduation from high school. Some of the proponent of uniform curriculum may say that there is the least amount of knowledge for high school graduates such as democratic attitude, critical reasoning and so on. I do agree with the existence of such knowledge. What I disagree with them is not that we need national curriculum in some degree, but that all we need is such a stiffened education. The recommendation above that all the students in a country should study the same educational material until college days is too strong to hold true.

Supporter of national curriculum may argue that there are many things for high school graduates to know as civil of the country. Consider democratic attitude. No matter how a student goes to college or not, he or she must learn about how to respect other people’s opinion and how to respond when their civil rights are encroached. Also, all the students must study critical reasoning in their high school days. They should have not just literacy, but ability to contemplate on what they read. I fully agree that these sorts of materials should be in national curriculum for all the students in the country.

True, these kinds of learning are crucial and indispensable materials. However, there are many other subjects about which some student need not to learn, though they are crucial for some other students. Consider advanced mathematics courses including calculus. For those who are interested in college-level mathematics, physics and engineering, it should be included in their high school course work. But there are many other students who are not interested in those fields. Consider students who want to major English literary. Although we grant that advanced math course might help for them, there are no reason to make math courses mandatory for them. In the same vein, for those who do not want to go college, necessitating such abstract courses is undesired. This is because many of them feel frustrated when they meet advanced math which are above their ability and away from their interests, which makes their willingness to study new things deteriorated.

Also, there is another very important reason for needs of variance of education: diversity. Students in a country are not living in similar regions and not in uniform culture. Students should learn their regional and cultural characteristics. Consider Native Americans. While their children should learn about what their nationality is, how democratic system works, and how to be critical to what they are reading, they should also learn about their ethnicity and culture. Without this kind of conservative education, their identities would not survive long, which endanger our society’s cultural diversity.

I concede the statement to the extent that there are some crucial materials as a national curriculum. But there are also things that are necessary only for some students, but not every student. Also, standardized curriculum could harm our cultural diversity. In these respects, I do not agree with the speaker’s assertion that only the same national curriculum must be given upon college graduation.