The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memo recommends that the best way of saving money for the company is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services. To support this recommendation, the author appeals to the fact that although the company changed pest control services from Buzzoff to Fly-Away at Palm City, Palm City’s loss from pest is larger than that at that of Wintervale, where the company continued to service from Buzzoff. However, the author fails to consider other pertinent factors, which may or may not invalidate the argument.

First, the author cites losses from each warehouse to compare the efficacy of pest control services. From the fact above, the author reasons that since loss at Palm City is larger than at Wintervale, pest control of Wintervale is more effective than that of Palm City. The author assumes that the two warehouses are similar enough. However, the author provides no substantiating evidence for it. Without such evidence, it is entirely possible that relative loss at Palm City is far less than at Wintervale. If so, it strongly indicates that the new service by Fly-Away is more efficient than former service by Buzzoff. Or, it is equally possible that the damages at Palm City are caused by new kind of pest so that if they had not changed the service, they would have harmed as much. Thus, without evidence for similarity between the two warehouses, the recommendation is too weak to follow.

Secondly, the author reasons that though the price of Fly-Away is much cheaper than that of Buzzoff, return to Buzzoff would be save money. Here, the author assumes that the difference of prices is neglectable relative to the possible additional revenue from effective damage control. However, since the author does not provide exact difference of prices, it is entirely possible that, although the company lessen pest damages by returning to Buzzoff by 10,000 dollars, price of Buzzoff is more expensive than that of Fly-Away by 20,000 dollars. If so, the returning to former service, in spite of its effectiveness of pest control, would decrease benefit of the company. Hence, to persuade me that the company should return to former pest control service, the author suggest evidence on exact prices of two services.

Finally, the author concludes that “all” the warehouse the company has to return to the Buzzoff service. However, the author only cites cases from two warehouses, the sufficiency of the recommendation is not strong enough to substantiate the generalization. Without evidence from other cases, it could be that all the warehouses other than Palm City’s and Wintervale’s saved more money by changing their service to Fly-Away. Then returning would harm the overall benefit of the company. Or, it is equally possible that it would be more saving that only warehouses where their damages were increased after changing service should return to the Buzzoff and others should remain the Fly-Away, since the cost charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower. In other words, without evidence for uniformity of their warehouses, one-size-fits-all strategy is hard to be justified.

In sum, the recommendation fails to persuade me as it stands. To strengthen the validity of the recommendation, the author need to implement what factors really cause and affect the damage. To assess the efficacy of the policy, I also need to know whether the warehouses the company has are uniform or not.