Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Throughout the history, there are many heroes. From Akhilkeus to the Spiderman, many people love and fascinate the heroes because they show sacrifice and exploit. Someone claim that we no longer regard any living man or woman as a hero because media subject their life to scrutiny. I strongly disagree with the statement; there are many examples of living heroes, which makes the claim unpersuasive.

The proponents illustrate the claim by many examples of who was once considered as hero but, under thorough scrutiny of media, turned out as a villain. ‘Molar daddy’ is one of the strongest instance. A documentary on his life told it as a saddened story of a sole dad with a daughter, but recent scrutiny of other media makes overt the dark side of him. He raped his wife, let her suicide and, using his daughter, he raped and killed a friend of his daughter. The ‘Molar daddy’ seems to show that it is no longer possible for us to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Although ‘Molar daddy’ is despicable for his wrongdoings, fundamentally media is the source of these cases. This is because media want to show them publicly. To be successful, media often manipulate what they saw and heard, or they are disguised by the villains so that the evils are described as hero. ‘Molar daddy’ case exactly indicate this point. Making the documentary, the staffs cannot help but depict him as a charitable daddy under pressure on them. Thus, what makes once-heroes turned out to be villains is media. However, media do so not by critical attitude but by condoning the evils.

Also, there are many people keep doing righteous actions in spite of scrutiny of media. Most of them are not extraordinary person, but pedestrian as we are except that they volunteer to do heroic deed. I know a public official who is as common as other officials, but once saved a person’s life by calling 911 and giving him first aid. Though some people might complain that what he did is too small to be considered as hero, but most people consider him as a hero and as common people he did not and will not wrongdoings.

In conclusion, although some of the once-heroes are now turned out to be non-hero by media, there are righteous people keeping doing their deed in spite of spotlight. Therefore, the statement is too general to hold true.