The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of memorandum reasons that to attract more viewers to their late-night news program and avoid further advertising loss, they have to restore the time for local news and weather as they did past. To support this recommendation, the manager cites following facts: First, they changed time allocation intending to more on national news and less on weather and local news. Second, most complaints during the period are about their coverage of weather and local news. Finally, their change in coverage coincided with cancelling advertisement of local businesses. However, this line of inference is dubious in many points.

To beginning with, the author appeals to the fact that decreasing time for local news and weather concurs with increment of complaints from viewers. Here, it is assumed that their concurrency implies causation. However, there is no evidence for this assumption. It is entirely possible that although most complaints from viewers were concerned with coverage of weather and local news, they were not about time allocation but about a point of view the program has or about their giving false report. Or, it is equally possible that despite of the ratio of complaints about local new and weather to the whole of complaints were high enough for representing those who complained, the absolute number of complaints was not large enough for whole viewers. Without substantiating this assumption, the recommendation is unpersuasive to me.

Another assumption the argument relies on is that the reason local companies canceled advertisement is the program’s decision to cut off time for local news and weather. Yet, the author provides no substantiating evidence for it. It is conceivable that they canceled advertisement because of recent increment of advertisement cost. If so, only businesses which can afford the cost sustain the advertisement contract. Another possibility is that extant local businesses advertising on the show is too small to affect the benefit of the company. Then, returning their time allocation would not help avoid further advertisement lose. The author must provide evidence indicating causal relation between advertisement loss and their change in coverage.

Finally, granted all the evidence I asked are given, however, the author commits a kind of time shift fallacy, that is, the author assumes that the present situation is similar enough to the past situation so that if the program will expand coverage of local news and weather, then more viewer come and no additional advertising happen. Without substantial evidence for it, it is entirely possible that all the prospect viewers of the show are watching it so that whatever they do, the rating would not be increased. Also, if all local advertisers cancelled their contract and only national big businesses remain in the contract, then their expanding local news and weather would cause additional loss of advertisement since national businesses are prefer national news to local news or weather.

In sum, the recommendation is not persuasive as it stands. To improve the validity of the argument, I suggest a new research on representativeness of complaint they were given and advertising cost of the program. Also, to assess the recommendation more precisely, I also need to know whether there is any negative consequence of the recommendation.