The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter argues that because there will be an increased demand for heating oil at the northeastern areas, a client should invest in Consolidated Industries. To support this recommendation, the author cites the fact that most of homes in the northeastern U.S. have used oil as their major fuel for heating and that climate forecasters predict that the region have experienced 90 days with below0nrmal temperatures. The writer also points out that many new homes are built there. However, the recommendation takes many unwarranted assumptions for granted so that it is not persuasive as it stands.

First, the author appeals to the fact that the region experienced and will experience 90 days of below-normal temperatures. From the fact above, the author reasons that residents of the region consume more oil for heating. The author here assumes that most of residents would heat their home whenever the temperature is below the normal. Yet, there is no substantiating evidence suggested in the letter. Due to absence of evidence, it is entirely possible that most of the residents are immune to cold weather so that without only a few days they do not heat their homes. If so, then the usage of oil would not be increased, and the investment in Consolidated Industries would not be beneficial.

Secondly, the author cites recent trend in the northeast area that recent population growth cause building new homes and concludes that oil consumption for oil would be increased. The author assumes that the new homes use oil for heating as extant homes are. However, the author provides no evidence for it. It is possible that new homes are using solar power for heating. Then, though new homes are built and population of the region is increased, oil consumption would not be increased enough for increment of the company’s benefit.

Finally, although all the above assumptions turn out to be true, investment to Consolidated industries would not be recommended, since the author assumes that additional consumption of oil for heating would be sold by the company. However, the author fails to substantiate it. It could be that other oil retail companies preempt the additional market share. Then despite of increased demand of heating oil, the Consolidate companies’ revenue would not be changed at all. Or, it is equally possible that heating oil is just one of sources that the company’s revenue comes from so that increasing in that portion would be little effect on total benefit of the company. In these possible scenarios, investment to the company would not be a preferable option.

In sum, the recommendation fails to persuade me as it stands. To strengthen the validity of the recommendation, the author should take survey of heating tendency with respect to temperature in that area. And to better asses the investment advice, I also need to know correlation between the expected additional oil consumption and the company’s benefit.