As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not uncommon to hear someone mourning that people today go dumb as they are more dependent on technology. Many people agree with it and think that they have to do something to prevent the negative effect of technology on making people stupid. However, I do not think that it is an appropriate way of thinking about technology. What is behind this misunderstanding is, I think, their misconception of the problem.

First, what is the ability of humans to think for themselves? The term is too vague. There are at least two different meanings. The first one is the ability to be reflective. When someone can think reflective, that is, think what he did himself, we say he is able to think himself. However, following this meaning, the problem is not clear. Although people are getting used to technology, there would be little difference in reflection. Another meaning of thinking themselves is: facing a problem, they can solve it by themselves. This meaning fits well with the reason why the problem above is suggested. As technology become a bigger part of people’s life, they tend to depend on the technology. For example, when someone asks you where the capital city of South Korea, you might take your smartphone out of your pocket and open the searching application. Only do a few people try to think themselves without relying on technology.

Yet I do not think that it does hold water. True, we do not tend to think ourselves when we have faced a problem like “where is the capital city of South Korea?” However, if we were asked more abstruse and abstract questions such as “why you think that philosophy is needed for humanity?”, you would not search on the internet. Instead, you would think yourself. What it shows is that: people today are tuned to think themselves only for difficult and hard-to-solve-problems. We today are forced to solve so many problems that we have not enough energy for the easy problems. Were we not an energy and time-limited creature, we would not search on the internet.

Another problem of the claim above is: it ignores the progressive trends in education. As technology develops, more people could access to education. 10 years before, it was a silly idea for those living in India to take MBA courses of a university at the states. However, today, what is considered as silly is that idea. Noting the fact that the more educated people are, the better they do abstract thinking, this trend shows the exact opposite of the claim: people are better at thinking themselves.

In sum, contemplating on our ritual behavior and the trend in education, I conclude that we human beings get more ability of thinking ourselves. I showed it by using (1) contrast of abstract problems with simple ones, and (2) accessibility of higher education.