The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memorandum recommends that to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, Happy Pancake House restaurants located in southeast and northeast should replace their uses of butter with those of margarine. To support the recommendation, the author cites complaints and reports from servers from the southeastern restaurants where butter has already been replaced by margarine. However, this recommendation would not be persuasive if the author provides no additional evidence to answer some questions on the assumptions the argument depends on.

First of all, the author appeals to the fact that only about 2 percent of customers have complained about the change from butter to margarine. From this fact, the author reasons that the rest of the customers who did not complained would be happy with the change. Yet, this line of reasoning assumes that all complaints comes only from those who have complaints. However, there is no substantiating evidence for it. Without such evidence, it is entirely possible that almost all the other people who really have complaints about the change did not show it, instead they went out the restaurants and never came back again. Then if the northeast restaurants follow this recommendation, their profitability would be harmed by loss of existing customers.

Also, the author appeals to the fact that, according to the reports from the servers, most of those who ordered butter do not complain when they were served with margarine. From the fact above, the author concludes that either these customers could not distinguish butter from margarine or use ‘butter’ more widely including margarine. Yet, the author fails to consider other possible scenarios. First, it could be that they could have distinguish butter from margarine, but they did not complain it because they have no time to do it. Then their chances of returning the restaurants would be dramatically lowered. Or, it is equally possible that even though they could not distinguish butter from margarine, they ordered butter since butter is healthier than margarine so that if the restaurants provide no more butter, then they would not go there. Therefore, it these alternative possible situations, the recommendation would deteriorate the restaurants’ profitability from the loss of existing and even prospect customers.

Finally, even though we grant that the change introduced in southwestern restaurants was successful, it would not be justified to argue that that policy would give benefit for northeast restaurants. This reasoning assumes that the two areas are alike enough. However, the author does not justify this assumption. It is entirely possible that the northeastern area is one of the largest milk producing area in the world so that the butter price of this area is far cheaper than that of southwestern area. Then the change would save far less cost, or the profit would be decreased because of additional cost for change. Another possible scenario is that whereas southwestern people are less concerned about healthier food than those of northeastern so that implementation of the change would beget failure of Happy Pancake House at northeast.

In sum, the recommendation fails to persuade me as it stands. To strengthen the validity of the recommendation, the author need to implement a new customer research at southwestern area. To assess efficacy of the policy, I also need to know whether the two areas are similar enough.