The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager."One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one

Author of this proposal to restrict showerheads's maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be offers an interesting argument but to move forward it will require more thoughts and information. While the assumptions stated are logical and probable, careful scrutiny of the arguments reveals that they provide little justification to author's conclusion.

Building upon implication that restricted maximum flow in showerheads will result in significant water saving for a company, author offer to modify water flow in all showerheads at Sunnyside Tower complex. However, this is merely an assumption without solid ground. Author fails to provide any arguments that such action will save a lot of money for a company. Even without actual reading of water, it is quite possible that overall water consumption stated aproximately the same. Residents besides showering are using water for cooking, cleaning and other needs and management cannot influence on that. Besides, reduced water flow in showerhead does not automatically mean that residents are using less water while showering, they just may stay longer under the shower, as the can not leave with soapy hair and body.

Additionatly, author states that amount of complains about low water pressure is low without providing any actual data about number of unhappy residents. Also, besides those who decided to make a complaint there can be a lot of residents, who decided not to take any action. It doesn't mean that the are happy or indifferent to water pressure changes, they just stay unsatisfied with company's service and they can eventually move-out from their appartments due to unwanted changes.

Finally, author assumes, that water restrictions will increase profit, which is not necesseraly so. As stated above, water consumption is unlikely to decrease, so apartment complex will not save a lot money. Additionaly, there can be a lot of unhappy resident moving out from the complex and preventing others to join the Sunnyside Tower, which will lead to profit loss.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuative as it stands. The author of the recomendation believes that restricted water flow in showerheads will reduce company's expenses and increase profit, but these assumptions are unwarranted. Moreover, the writer's proposal may hurt company's revenue even more.