The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it may be true that the modification to the showerheads could result in savings to the Sunnyside Corporation, this statement does not mean those savings will be considerable, or even medium savings, since there’s no evidence (no readings of water usage before and after the installation are available) to prove it.

The author does not provide any proof that the percentage of the water consumption by showers is significant to the total cost of water usage in the complex, in which case its reduction would mean considerable water usage savings.

The author also fails to considerate that the water system could have failures or ruptures in its net in another location, meaning that there would be still an extra water usage for the Sunnyside Corporation even after the modification. Also, the author does not provide costs of the restriction system over time (installation, maintenance, etc.), and how much would the profits be including these expenses.

Besides, even when the author mentions that there have been no problems since the adjustment in the showers, this does not mean this will hold true for the coming months and years, either with the water system or with a damage made by the people living in the complex, which can, in their own, be expensive.

The author claims that restricting water flow through all twelve Sunnyside Towers complex will increase their profits even more dramatically, which is by no means sure, because the author does not take into account that if these water flow reductions troubles the people in the complex, they might leave and move into another complex that does not have this kind of restrictions, leaving the Sunnyside Towers complex with less profits from rent.

If the Sunnyside Corporation wants to have actual savings of profit from its Tower complex, they would need to provide evidence that the shower water usage is significant enough to implement the reduction system, that there is no failures or ruptures in the water system in any other place of the complex, that the people living in the Sunnyside Towers complex would not be troubled enough to leave the complex and decrease profits from the complex, and that the costs of installation and maintenance of said system is low enough to be an improvement and not another expense to deal with.