The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author in the letter concludes that the high school should be providing driving programs to educate teenagers in driving with providing various reasons advocating such conclusion. However, the author should be more clear and provide additional information to maintain such claim. The letter lacks justification due to rife holes and assumptions which will be discussed below.

First of all, the author should provide more information to justify its claim. He/she implicates that there has been several accidents among teenage drivers in the past two years. However, we do not know whether there were more accidents caused by teenagers in the more previous years. The number of accidents could have actually declined since then and which will not actually be a significant issue anymore. Furthermore, the letter indicates that a number of parents complained about not being able to instruct their teenagers in driving due to being too busy. However, we yet do not know how many complaints is a "number" of complaints. There could have been just two complaints which obviously is not a critical amount.

Moreover, the author assumes that the reason teenagers are being involved in such car accidents is due to busy parents who were not able to teach teenagers how to drive or are not capable of affording driving instructions. However, we do not even know if the teenagers who were involved in car accidents were from parents who are too busy or are going through poverty. They could actually be from parents who are wealthy enough to afford driver instructors and have taught their kids how to drive. For the author to use such reason to justify his/her claim, he/she needs to be more clear of which parents the teenagers are from and the specific causes of teenagers involving in car accidents.

To sum up, the letter seems plausible and the conclusion seems justifiable. However, through thorough investigation and looking at the letter in various angles, the author does not stand a chance of a warranty. The author should provide us more information and needs to eliminate lack of clarification to maintain such claim.