The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the magazine article regarding the post-retirement plans concludes that Clearview, perhaps a city/state, should be an uppermost priority while looking for a place to live in. As an evidence, the author of the article puts forwards the captivating splendor and hospitable climate of Clearview city as major reasons one should be considering. However, being standing on the faulty assumptions, the later arguments presented in the magazine article do not make a persuasive case to motivate someone who has recently retired person. Therefore, certain questions are raised that need to be addressed before any person takes a formal decision on the said recommendation.

First of all, it is mentioned that the mayor of Clearview city has promised to develop many infrastructural programs plus basic facilities including community service, avenue and highways, and education. However, the timeline for the start and end of these programs is not mentioned. Perhaps, it is possible that Clearview city has recently started to develop and is in its rudimentary stages that will take years to completely buildup to a developed city with aforesaid perks. Or, it is equally possible that the city is in its final stages of completion. There seems to be an element of uncertainty in the argument which will not stimulate the interest of the retired people to migrate to Clearview and risk their lives in a city which is underdeveloped – having no work, education and social opportunities. Therefore, the evidence regarding the current development of Clearview city is crucially required before the mass shifting of people take place.

Secondly, the author does not provide any significant evidence regarding the nature of healthcare doctors and physicians in the area. The argument of having the average medical facilities being greater than the national average alone does not provide any clear-cut evidence to persuade the retired people. For instance, if an old-age person needs a hernia operation and the only available hospitals in the Clearview city deal with heart and kidney related issues, where the caretakers of the old-age person are supposed to take him? If this possibility is true in any case, it highly questioned the viability of the conclusion drawn by the author regarding development of the Clearview city.

Also, the author claims that Clearview city has natural beauty that should never be ignored while taking the decision of moving into a new city. But, what if, the old retired person is moving in along with his family and the Clearview city is more of a rural city than an urban one? Being remote from the rest of the urban states/cities, it may cause a feeling of resentment among the youthful children – the solitary life giving them depression and anxiety.

Conclusively, the argument being structured on implausible and unwarranted evidence, in the current positions appears to be highly weakened if any of the possibilities holds true. Moreover, a research-oriented study from the concerned authorities such as local municipality, is required in order to present a big picture of the existing scenario of the city. Only then, a reasonable standing on the argument can be ensured and the probability of risking the social conditions of retired people is greatly minimized.