The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument makes unwarranted assumptions regarding expanding the business of Bargain Brand and marketing other low priced foods as quickly as possible. If these assumptions prove invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author of the argument assumes that the low prices introduced one year ago is the only reason for attracting more customers to Bargain Brand. If the Bargain Brand produces high quality Bargain Brand cereal, then this may be reason for the increasing profits as other companies may have provided cereal with same quality but at higher price. The profit made by the Bargain Brand may be because the price after the reduction made by the companies producing top brands is higher compared to the price of the cereal produced by Bargain Brand. In this case, the argument falls apart. The author has to provide an evidence that the low prices of the Bargain Brand is the only reason for the profits.

Secondly, the author of the argument assumes that marketing other low priced foods will make profits for the Bargain Brand. The author does not consider other factors which affects the sales made by the other low priced foods. If the other low priced foods are not of good quality, then people will prefer to buy that food from other companies which produce high quality food at higher price. If the people are not interested to buy other low priced food, then they will not buy the food even when it is offered at low cost. In the above cases, the argument falls apart. The author has to provide an evidence that low price is the most important thing people consider while buying any food or Bargain Brand can offer other low priced food at high quality to strengthen the argument.

The argument is based on the above unwarranted assumptions like the low price of the cereal is the only reason for the attracting more customers, marketing other low priced food will make profits. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart.