The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the city of Grandview can eliminate its funding for Grandview symphony from next year's budget, since this year, the private contributions and attendance increased and also the symphony is going to increase ticket prices from next year. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation, besides, the author fails to mention several key factors, which can be used to evaluate the prediction of the passage. Therefore, there are some questions that should be answered in order to verify the conclusion.

First question arises here that whether private contributions and attendances will be continued until next year? The author assumes that since this year, private contributions increased by 200 precents and the symphony faced with more attendants, we will not need to any governmental budget for next year's festival. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. There is no any guarantee that these contributions will be perpetuated until next year, or there is no assurance that next year's symphony would have participants as many as those of this year. For example it is possible that a new advertising campaign or attendance of a celebrity increased private donations and attendances.

A the second question we can ask is that whether higher prices for ticket will not decrease the number of attendances? The argument claims that by increasing the price of tickets the symphony can succeed with any funding from the city. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim that the argument did not demonstrate any correlation between the price of tickets and the number of attendances. To illustrate this weakness we can say that maybe the price of tickets will increased while the number of attendances will be lower than before. If the argument had provided evidence that the high price of tickets will not have any negative effect o the number of attendances the argument would have been more convincing.

Finally, the last question is that whether the amount of private contributions and the payment from tickets will full-fill the whole budget we need for the symphony? Probably, we may need more budget even if private donations will be continiued. Without answering to this question, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wistful thinking rather than substansive.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed with the abovementioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing.it could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned facts and evidences regarding the estimated number of attendants in next year, the preference of private donators to continue their financial supports and the positive correlation between the price of tickets and the number of audiounces.