The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 is happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that changing butter with margarine did not have any negative effect on customers since either they do not distinguish butter and margarine or they use similar term for both the margarine and butter. In first glance, the claim seems plausible but it is based on falsified assumptions and evidences which make the argument unconvincing.

My first objection to this argument is that how the author is sure about the number of dissatisfied customers? In fact, it is possible that the majority of customers did not complain about using margarine instead of butter just because in their food was not used any margarin e. Maybe they order foods which recipies did not consist of any butter ,so using margarine instead of butter did not have any effect on their foods. Moreover, it is not implausible that servers did not report most of complaints since they may feared from being punished. Therefore, there are many alternative explanations regarding the number of complaints that can be undermine the verifiability of the author's statistics.

Second, there may be another reasons that the customers did not complain about margarine. True, that there was no p margarine and butter in taste and name for some customers but it is probable that customers discerned that margarine was used in their food yet they prefered not to complain and instead they decided not to come back to the restaurant anymore. By considering this alternative explanation, we can conclude that using margarine had negative effect on our customers.

Third, this policy was occurred in southern areas, but there is no guarantee that customers in other regions have appetites as similar as those in south regions. Hence, implementing such plan may result in decrease in overall customers.

In conclusion, this argument and its reasoning is not convincing unless the author provides cogent evidence about types of foods, the level of servers ' honesty and the measure of similarity between people's appetites in different regions . Moreover , had the author presents reliable statistics about the total number of customers in south's restaurant before and after using margarine, the argument would become more convincing.