The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the surveys show that by maintaining all-female tradition, the Grove college will have more morale students and also its alumnae will continue its financial support to the college. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of facts, uses poor reasoning and fails to substantiate verifiability of the surveys. The conclusion of this argument relies on results and assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, there are some questions that should be answered in order to make a more convincing conclusion.

The first question arises here that what percent of students contributed to the survey? The passage avers that since 80 percent of students who responded the survey were opposed to co-education program, continuing all-female tradition will result in improving students' morale. This statement is a stretch since the author did not provide any detail information regarding the proportion of respondents to to the total number of students. In fact, maybe only 10 percent of students contributed to the survey and 80 percent of them were proponents of the tradition. This means that probably most of the students are either opposed to the tradition or not contributed to the survey. The argument would have been convincing if the author clearly had provided information about the proportion of students responding to the survey to the total number of students.

the second question we should ask is that what percent of the total alumnae members answered to the survey's questions? The writer claims that because the majority of alumnae responding to the survey were advocates of the tradition, maintaining this tradition would guarantee alumnae's financial support. However, this conclusion is flawed since the author did not present any evidence about what proportion of alumnae's members contributed to the survey. If only one person responded that survey, the results are not reliable. Therefore, based on a such unconvincing survey, the college can not be sure to have alumnae supports in the future.

The final question is that whether by continuing the all-female tradition all faculty members will not abandon the school? The argument says that although most of the faculty members were proponents of co-education program, the college should maintain the tradition jut because of the survey's results. In contrast, what happened if faculty members opposing to the all-female program give up the school even if the students and alumnae are proponents of the tradition? To make the prediction more reliable, the author must provide convincing evidence given whether the faculty prefer to remain in school.

In conclusion, according to the above-mentioned reasons, the argument is unjustifiable and full of unproven facts. To strengthen the conclusion, the author should demonstrate more details regarding the way of sampling and also he should provide evidence about the level of faculty's commitment to teach in the school unless maintaining the all-female tradition.