The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College a private institution to the college s governing committee Recently there have been discussions about ending Grove College s century old tradition of all fema

A recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff at the Grave College, to the college’s governing committee to maintain the school as an all-female education system rather than admit males. As a matter of fact, the college is trying to adhere to its century old tradition and is refusing to instigate change; a decision to be liable has to answer to the following three important questions. As the argument presented above is currently rife with holes and cannot be substantiated.

To begin with, the argument states that a survey was conducted among the 80% of the current ‘Female’students and these students objected the decision. However, when stating the response of these students, they never state the size of the survey, and how was it conducted. It is imperative, when conducting surveys to conduct them as scientific as possible; that is to widen the spectrum, so that it is as reflective of the population as possible. Furthermore, they had to state the questions that were asked to the students. For instance, they might have asked them: “ Would you want to have males come and overtake your school? Do you want males to overpopulate the school? Do you want the other gender around? How can we be sure that the questions were impartial, that they were not directed in one direction so that we elicit one answer or another? To make a sound judgement we need more and concise information.

Secondly, when stating that it will improve the morale of the students by maintaining an all girls school. This is a a strong conclusion based on a personal viewpoint. Morale in tself means, confidence, enthusiasm and discipline and what exactly do they mean by stating that without the male figure the morale will increase. Are we to understand that the morale was not there, and why will it increase at this particular point in time…Maybe the presence of the male figure will enhance the performance of these girls and the morale will increase in the reverse case. The presence of the male figure will be reminiscent of their brothers, their fathers, of their normal lives, and they will perform in a normal condition and as such the morality will sky rocket rather than drop.

Moreover, they state that by keeping the school as an all female institution they will convince the Alumnae to keep supporting it financially. Why do they believe that these Alumnae as a total are againt the winds of change? Depending on the survey, we have previously presented a counter argument regarding that matter. As far as the alumnae are concerned, they might be more supportive of the idea, they might fund the school more if it was turned into a mixed system. The alumae are the children of the world, they are the new mothers, entrepreneurs, engineers and doctors; they are the new innovators that will probably not adhere to the old institutional system. These women are the new leaders of the world and they have a new vision for their daughter and sons…They cannot make a claim without a proper survey, without a proper study… Their statement was false and was not based on any evidence and is as such refuted.

Finally, I believe for this argument to be cogent it has yet to undergo many steps; surveys, data, assessment and then final judgement. The conclusion was reached in a hasty manner and as such it should be refuted.