The following appeared in a memo from the director of International student affairs at Darrington College. "To better serve the international students being admitted to Darrington College, we should build a new cafeteria catering to the students at subsid

The writer asserts that building a new cafeteria with subsidized rates would help the college attract more international students and also increase the ranking of Darrington College. The writer supports this statement with the current scenario of the college. However more evidence is required to prove the statement.

Firstly, the writer has not provided evidence of the footfall and the prices of dishes in the existing cafeteria. Many factors can cause the low popularity of the existing cafeteria. The cafeteria may be located far from the main classroom and hence the students may find it unfeasable to visit the cafe. If price of the dishes is a concern, the administration can first run a trial of the subsidised dishes in the existing criteria. This would help ascertain the cause of the low footfall of the cafeteria and also to whether a new cafeteria is required.

Secondly, the type of dishes served in the cafeteria could also be a factor.The international students may prefer dishes from their own nations and inclusion of more international menu could help to attract more international students. Additionally the food quality should also be kept in mind as providing dishes in subsidised rate but lower quality would have adverse effects.

And finally the writer concludes that building a new cafeteria would increase the ranking of Darrington College. However it may also happen that the higher ranked colleges offer more course options to students which justifies international students opting for those colleges. Thus a comparison of the courses offered by higher ranked colleges with that of Darrington College would help get a better understanding of the situation and including additional courses would help in attracting international students and increasing the overall rank.

Hence the writer must consider the above evidences that may strengthen or weaken the argument.