The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Growth is always dependent on direction and with proper direction, it can attain new heights else it becomes a game of chance. And so for a nations growth its leaders are responsible for providing the required direction. Hence although an effective leader is the key for the well-being of its citizens, judging his/her effectiveness solely on these factors seems too vague due to the following reasons.

First, the leader of the nation is usually an elected official for a fixed tenure (given the exception of monarchs, dictators or officials who are elected for a lifetime). In this tenure the leader may envision a lot of development plans and the execution of these plans may take longer than the leaders tenure. Take for example, construction of a nationwide transportation grid to connect all the cities. It would boost the nations logistic infrastructure and would eventually benefit the country’s economy. However, such a massive scale project might take decades to be completed, in such a case, for the effect of such a project to reflect on the citizens welfare would take a long time and its success wouldn't be a attributed to the official who envisioned it.

Secondly, is it not at times of hardship that a need of an effective leader truly emerges? Consider the case of pre-independence India. Under the British rule, while trade with other countries existed and normal life of the citizens were present, they were not independent. At such a time, a once in a lifetime leader - Mahatma Gandhi rose to fulfil India's need for independence. He started movements such as non-violence and boycott of all foreign goods which lead to trade being brought to a standstill. Despite its citizens not being in a well-to-do situation, Mahatma Gandhi is still considered a great leader for his perseverance in difficult times and laying the foundation for India’s independence. And so, it can be inferred that the current well-being of citizens can't be the primary measure of the leaders effectiveness.

In conclusion, although the decisions of a leader have a direct effect on the well-being of its citizens, considering it as the primary measure of the leader’s leadership is flawed. A leader must be evaluated on his vision for the nation.