The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of marketing suggests that the patented manufacturing process to produce more durable socks must be discontinued as its consumers prefer its socks for their color and style over their longevity. By doing so, he suggests that it would increase the company's profit. This statement might be true, however, there are a few assumptions that it is based on which may weaken the argument.

First, The author needs to provide us more evidence on the benefits of the 'Endure manufacturing process. It states that it ensures the socks can last for 2 years from this manufacturing process. Has the company done enough testing and user reviews to test its claim? Even though it's claimed to last 2 years, the average customers might be using it in rougher conditions, due to which it gets worn out faster and hence they change it every 3 months. Also, are there any other benefits of using the process? It could be that the patented method produces less waste or runs more efficiently, thus being more profitable for the company compared to others.

Also, would removing the patented process be more profitable? the cost to remove and replace it with other equipments for the new process along with the training of staff to use it, could add up the cost of the company. Thus, only if the company is sure these costs would be profitable in the long run should the company consider removing them.

Finally, the consumer survey suggests that customers prefer Dura-socks for their style and availability of colors. While this may be true, durability may be an unsaid factor due to which these customers continue to buy socks from the same company again. The style and color of the socks are it's first impression but its regular customer might find the longevity of the socks as a reason to buy it again. Thus Dura-Sock would lose such customers if it plans to discontinue the process. Also, to increase its profits, the company should conduct a survey of patrons of other brands to understand what factors Dura-Sock can improve on to increase its market share.

In conclusion, the Vice President needs to provide evidence on the above assumptions to make the argument more persuasive.