A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

__________

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo states that since the tests on the recalled foods have shown all its chemicals used to be approved in pet food, it must stop the investigation. The argument is majorly based on test results, and since the tests showed no signs of adulteration, the pet food is safe to be consumed. However, this conclusion is riled with assumptions that the company must take into account before stopping the investigation.

Firstly, the memo has generalized the complaint to all pet food. The food for pet fishes( consisting mainly of worms or its derivatives) can be reasonably harmful for dogs. Similarly, details need to be provided as to which specific breed of pets has the complaints orginated from. It could be that the a specific breed of pets are having these symptoms. Thus, more details on the the type of pet and pet food needs to be provided in order to draw correct conclusions.

Secondly, the company had to recall pet food over complaints of vomiting, lethargy etc. No statistics have been provided regarding these complaints. Have all the pets that consumed this food complained of these symptoms? Or was it just a few of them? It could be that there were only a few handful complaints, for which the company didn't have to recall 4 million pounds of food. These answers would help the company to decide its stratergies aptly.

Thirdly, the company states that all chemicals in the pet food were approved for. This may bring into question that whether these standards on pet food actually safe? The company could investigate further on the safe standards and whether trace quantity of any chemicals were the probable cause. Additionally, the company must ensure the ingredients are mentioned on its packet. Similar to humans, pets could have allergies and consuming them may have bad symptoms. In such a case, if the ingredients are clearly mentioned on the packet, pet owners may take the precaution to avoid feeding allergy prone foods to their pets.

In conclusion, the company must first clear these assumptions, so that a ap solution is omplemented.