The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The investment firm suggests its clients to invest in Consolidated Industries, which has major business operations in the retail sale of home heating oil. The argument is based on the fact that rise in the number of houses being built would increase the demand of oil, as traditionally oil is being used as fuel in these houses for heat. While this may be true, the firm would have to answer the following questions to make its advice more persuasive.

First, How many new homes were built in the region? The firm bases its argument on the fact that the price of oil will increase if the number of houses increases. However, numerical evidence isn't provided to show a rise in houses. 'Many new homes' could also mean 5 new homes or 500 new homes. This vague terminology doesn't paint a clear picture of the rise of houses in the region.

Secondly, Is heating technology still the same? In the letter, the firm asserts that oil is traditionally used as fuel for heating. This may have been true for ealier times but the firm needs to provide evidence on how many newly built houses use oil for heating. Since heating oil in a confined space is a huge fire hazard, the local government could have made rules to prevent using it wich would lead to most of the newly built houses to use electrical sources of heat. Also, better insulation used in new houses could also mean a decreased demand for heat generation in the house.

And finally, the firm suggests its client to invest in Consolidated Industries, but, it could be one of many such businesses that provide home heating oil. The advice doesn't provide any evidence to choose Consolidated Industries over its peers in the same business. It could be possible that its competitors already provide the same quality of oil at a lower cost, thus making it more preferable over Consolidated Industries. Or that its peers could reduce the prices of their product after the demand surges. Would Consolidated Insdustries then be the preferred choice?

Thus, the author needs to provide further clarification on these topics to make the suggestion persuasive to its readers.