The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter, the author implies that Kensington Academy should replace its cafeteria vendor as they may lead to health consequences for their students. While this may be true, the argument is based on assumptions that need to be answered first.

Firstly, the author has stated that the students do not enjoy the food from the cafeteria. Is it true for all students? There is no evidence to support whether this claim is applicable to a majority of the students in that school. Before changing the vendor, the school must survey all of its students to get a thorough understanding of the issue, as it could be due to its taste or lack of options that the cafeteria provides. In which case the school would have to change its solution accordingly.

Secondly, The reason for the student's dislike of cafeteria meals isn't clearly defined. Is it because of the low-fat, low-calorie food being served? While it is true that healthier foods may not taste as good as their unhealthy counterparts, healthy food may benefit its students in the long run. Swift Nutrition could also look into making its food more enjoyable for the students. It could sometimes provide some unhealthy yet tasty options so that students could sometimes snack on them.

As stated in the letter Swift Nutrition provides low-fat and low-calorie meals, and it may be the school's decision to introduce such meals to introduce healthy food options for its students. Has there been any improvement in its student's health? Since Swift Nutrition was instated as the cafeteria management last year, the school can compare its student's health status with a year-old record and decide whether the healthy food options have benefitted the students.

Thus while the authors claim that might be true, the school must consider these questions before replacing the vendor as they may shed light to the actual issue the students face.