Environmental protection policies should not be applicable to corporations, which generate significant financial and economical growth, even if such growth may have a negative impact on the environment.

With the beginning of the Industrial revolution, the economic and financial growth is rapidly rising. Our dependence on technology has also risen to cater the needs of higher efficiency. However the effects of such rampant growth hasn't been observable until lately, the effects are far to high to be repudiated. In such a case it is viable to have certain environmental protection laws in place to keep a check on industries that produce harmful and toxic effluents in the form of air, water or solid wastes. Thus I strongly believe that environmental protection policies are our only hope in curbing these ill effects and they must be made applicable to all corporations big and small.

To begin with it is natural for corporations to think about their economic benefits over the ill effects it produces. This is clearly evident with the fact that pharmaceutical companies dump the waste in rivers and lakes which in turn has deteriorating health of the people living nearby. This is a common theme in most of the developing nations where production of medicines and drugs take place. In such a case, shouldn't environmental protection policies be applicable?

Another factor is the cost. Corporations argue that the protection policies would lead them to increase the prices of products due to the added costs of safely disposing the waste. This is infeasible for the customers at large. But, won't having having an environmental policy force them to adopt new cleaner ways? Anyways, the corporations wouldn't adopt cleaner methods by choice; so having a environmental policy would in fact force them to approach new better ways of production to have higher profit margins.

Implementation of these policies could have ill effects too such as noncompliance of industries which would affect the production as well as jobs in the region. This could affect the regional economics and could bring to a standstill. This however could be resolved with the collaboration of both the government and the corporations. Rather than a sudden enforcement of restrictions on the corporation, certain milestones can be set. An example of this collaboration is the Paris Accords on climate change and the Kyoto protocol which is a legally binding protocol signed by many countries to curb their overall emissions in set targets. Thus a collaboration is helpful in establishing such policies.

In conclusion it can be said that no matter the economic growth, a clean environment is of more importance and collaborative efforts would lead to the successful implementation of such policies.