Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The management suggests that the company should monitor all employee emails as it would protect the company from lawsuits. I strongly disagree with the argument due to the following reasons.

First of all, each person has the right to privacy and the company violates it by monitoring all the emails of its employees. This would lead to a sense of distrust of the company towards its employees. Privacy has become a major issue these days, which is evident by the recent scandalous case of Facebook. Wherein, the company sold its users' information to a third-party application. This case led to severe backlash from the government and lead to movements such as "boycott Facebook" worldwide. If the company too doesn't want a similar response from its employees and society, it must reconsider its decision to monitor its employees' emails.

Secondly, the argument is based on the reasoning that monitoring email correspondence would reduce resources such as time and system capacity. However, the management fails to see the additional resource utilization. The company would have to pay for monitoring applications along with their installation in all of its employees' devices. Or, the company would have to hire more people to monitor emails and flag them accordingly. Both of which would cost the company more money and reduce its profit margins.

And finally, the management's claim that monitoring emails would protect the company from lawsuits is not supported. The company would instead face more lawsuits from its employees for this decision. Instead of continuously monitoring the emails, in the case of a lawsuit, the company can check the email correspondence of the employee to serve as evidence.

In conclusion, the management's suggestion to monitor its all employee's emails is not supported by its argument. Instead of proving to be beneficial for the company, it would lead to additional costs and privacy violation lawsuits for the company.