Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The argument provides a dual approach to inculcate morality in society through changes in education. One suggests that teaching morality to students might be beneficial, whereas the other suggests logical reasoning as the path to teach morality. While both of these approaches are true in their own terms, I feel the best way is the amalgamation of both.

Morality plays an important role in society. Moral citizens know the difference between good and bad, thus helping society always progress towards its betterment. However, imbibing morality in students is a complex task. Children learn from society, the behavior of their parents, teachers, siblings play a role in the decision-making of the child. This has its own pros and cons, while the children learn good moral values from their surroundings, they also learn the bad and unjust values and consider them as justified. Thus the society plays a pivotal role in teaching right and wrong to the children.

Schools in this case can play a major role in inculcating good morals, by demonstrating and providing a moral and just environment for the children. Mythological stories and tales of good versus evil have long played the role of teaching the society of being morally true to oneself, as the truth always wins. Similarly, schools can include such moral stories in its curriculum, which will entertain the studenst with its imagination and also impart words of wisdom in them.

Since morality is the decision of what is right and wrong, it is also true that logical reasoning can be the backbone of teaching morality. Logical reasoning is based on underlying principles andif morality is based on logical reasoning, it would also depend on these principles. If logical reasoning dictates the decision to be just, it must be morally true. For example, hurting someone wouldn't be logically correct, and hence teaching logic would enable the society to think what is right and wrong. Thus if the society is strong in logical reasoning, it can be a morally just society as well.

In summary, as described above, there are many avenues through which a society can learn moral principles, and using a singular approach to teaching it won't be the best approach. Instead a mixture of all of these would be the best way to produce a moral society.